Revision Crazy

So I haven’t necessarily finished Deceptive. In fact, I got about half-way through and started chucking characters in the trash bin. I think at one point, I had 19 characters all together. The books with the most characters are usually the most frustrating to read. Oh, you’ve never slogged through Anne of Ingleside, or Anne of the Isle by LM Montgomery? TREACHEROUS.

It is also treacherous to write, when suddenly everyone is fighting to come back into the story, and your plot is on vacation. Thus, when NaNo ended, I stopped writing. A few days ago I couldn’t take it anymore, and slashed out 8 main characters… putting some into the sub plot, and others were re-arranged or deleted entirely. Deceptive feels different, and I can’t say I’ve gotten back into the swing of writing it yet. My FMC Jane now starts out as a moody introverted cynic [but not], moping as she looks around at all of the stupid cliques. If there is one character I hate to write, it’s a moody one. Jane must be on strike, I’m telling you.

Another thing is, my genre changed. What started out as boarder line Lit-Fic is now just a plain ol YA Mystery/Drama.

 

I MISS MY FIRST DRAFT!

I MISS MY MAIN CHARACTER’S BROTHER!

 

YOU ARE COMING BACKKKKK. To heck with the secondthirdfourthfifth draft.

4 thoughts on “Revision Crazy

  1. Wow! Lots of characters. I think when we counted them out, my husband and I got about 75 in all of our books. They’re introduced a little at a time though, and there are 5 books in the series…

  2. Aw, don’t give up hope. Characters seems easy to do at first, but then you start and … Oh-my-gosh. I have the perfect book for you. Try STORY ENGINEERING by Larry Brooks. He’s written it for Novelists and Screenwriters so it has the best content from both perspectives. I’ve reviewed his book on Goodreads and Amazon.

    Have a look at my recent blog post: http://rebeccaberto.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/the-best-advice-ive-learned-on-mastering-three-dimensional-characters-people/. I detail one of the chapters called “Characters”, if you are interested.

    For planning a successful story, no writer can go past this book. A++. Good luck with your NaNoWriMo manuscript.

    • I saw that book in a Writer’s Digest newsletter! Sounds like it’s pretty good, I’ll have to look it up at the library.

Leave a Reply

