This writer’s reading year.

Since everyone else is doing an end-of-year post on their blog, I’m going to do one. Haha. It seems I’m using cliches a lot lately, and it’s kind of fun.

I’ve read a lot of badly written books, and learned a TON about writing, to say the least. I’ve had friend troubles [boy troubles too, if you can call it that], I’ve made great new friends. I finally have a Bookshelf Big Enough to Hold Everything. And without further ado, I have read the following amazing works:

  • Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements – Whoa. Amazing amazing amazing. As I’ve said in an earlier post, this book has such a simplistic and realistic POV that it’ll blow you away. Not for younger readers, but y’know, not everything is. I’ve never really liked science fiction until I read this book.
  • RUTH in the Holy Bible – I kept reading the line ‘Intreat me not to leave thee…’ in My Friend Flicka, and I finally found it in the Bible: Ruth. A beautiful book. Very short and sweet.
  • ESTHER in the Holy Bible – I watched a movie called ‘One Night With The King’ which was VERY loosely based on Esther, and immediately went and read it. LOVE THE BOOK OF ESTHER.
  • The Mozart Season by Virginia Euwer Wolff – though I’m not really into her other works, this happens to be the best music themed book I’ve ever read. I can also really relate to the narrative and the way the book flows… the main character in this book is very realistic. This makes my Top Ten.
  • Marika by Andrea Cheng – Though this writer has a very structured writing style, I still enjoyed this dramatic story about a Jewish girl in Hungary in WWII. The Lace Dowery is also a good book. I found both at the library.
  • Half Broke Horses by Jeanette Walls – This book was written for adults, but my dad bought it for me anyway. xD Though some of it is kind of depressing, I LOVED the narrative. [ROFL what’s new?] This book made me think a little deeper about my own characters and how they think. Pretty deep, even though it’s secular in a way.
  • Benjamin Pratt & The Keepers of the School Series by Andrew Clements – Nautical, school story, hidden panels, ocean… what more could you want? Written very well.
  • The Red Blazer Girls (series) The Vanishing Violin by Micheal D. Beil – BRILLIANTLY HILARIOUS. There was almost too many characters in this book, but they were unique enough so the large enumeration was not a huge deal. I liked the Vanishing Violin a lot more than the first book, but that’s because it’s about music. xD And mystery!

There are many, many more books out there that rock, and I cannot wait to read them in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

